click the logo to return to the common language home page

The Common Language training programme and accompanying materials is nearing completion. Components are published online as they become available. Two training packs are being compiled: one for practitioners and managers and the other for researchers which is described elsewhere on this site.

The training programme for practitioners and managers will comprise 14 modules, each of which takes a day to deliver. There are seven 'what is' modules dealing with the concepts that make up Common Language such as need, threshold, outcome and services. There are seven 'how to' modules that explain how the concepts are applied to a particular task such as making an assessment, evaluating an outcome or designing a service.

Each module comprises:

  • Five or six short presentations accompanied by handouts
  • Exercises to link the presentation to practice
  • Discussion themes
  • Reading materials

The training modules can be delivered individually, or in different combinations depending on the requirement of the children's services agency. The training has been used to improve assessment, support service designers, help practitioners introduce common thresholds and to encourage agencies to take an outcome approach to their work.

Dartington will only deliver the training materials to multi-diciplinary groups.

Seven 'What is' Modules
1. What is Common Language?
2. What is child development?
3. What is meant by risk, protective factors, resilience and coping?
4. What is need?
5. What is threshold?
6. What is service?
7. What is an outcome?

Seven 'How to' Modules
8. How to do an individual assessment
9. How to make difficult decisions about difficult cases
10. How to generate management information
11. How to plan for children's services
12. How to make children's services
13. How to evaluate an outcome
14. How to apply ideas about child development to children's services